That ‘What If?’ question has been on my mind all week long. When I first got assigned a story to find out how the government shutdown would affect Missouri, I didn’t understand the extent to which this issue could blow up.

As I did more and more research, I began to see that the threat of a government shutdown was being blown out of proportion in many areas, and the real problem was not being addressed. Many politicians were running around Washington spouting out rumors that the troops would not be paid for their service to stir up animosity toward Democrats in Congress. This myth is not true; in fact, troops will be paid for their service, just not right away. Essentially, the government would hand them an IOU until the budget is confirmed.

Besides all the mythbusting I had to do this week, I felt like my story wasn’t just riding on an MDN deadline, but a national one as well. Every chance I got to update the story as sources rolled in, I also checked the Twitter updates for the Washington Post and New York Times to make sure that my story was still valid. For all I knew, while I was on the phone with the department of transportation this whole thing could have been figured out and my story would have been irrelevant. It was quite a rush to be on such a tight deadline, but as I got the story I found myself hoping they would figure out the budget in time for everyone’s sake. Even now as I write this blog, I checked to see if any progress has been made. Alas, none to speak of.

I really got to see how political politics can be in writing this story. I know that sounds stupid, but it’s hard to believe sometimes what government officials will put before their constituents. My journalistic curiosity is buzzing to find out what pork barrel spending some people refused to part with while funding for my Pell Grant and the local Planned Parenthood went out the window.

